Should You Carry Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Miami Car Accident Lawyer News: Florida doesn’t require all that much in the way of automobile insurance. When you register your car, you need only prove that you have the minimum coverage required by law, which is $10,000 in personal injury protection and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage. Even with those minimal requirements, about one in five South Florida drivers, including the Miami area, does not carry any auto insurance. If you are in an accident where the other driver is at fault but has no auto insurance, you stand a good chance of winning a court judgment for damages against someone who has no means to pay that judgment.
People without auto insurance tend to be people who also don’t have much money. They’re known as “judgment-proof.” You can’t get blood from a stone or money from a person who has none. Given the odds of being involved in an accident in the Miami area with a person who has no auto insurance, what can you do to protect yourself? The solution might be simpler than you think.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage can be Worth the Cost
If you are involved in a traffic accident in the Miami area, you have at least a 20 percent chance that the other driver has no auto insurance. Your odds might be even worse than that – Florida ranks second in the nation for uninsured drivers, with 24 percent of Florida drivers carrying no insurance. If the driver in your accident is at fault for the accident and has no insurance, you have virtually no chance of recovering damages from that person. Even if you win a judgment in court, you will have spent money and time getting a judgment that you can’t collect. If the at-fault driver has no money, he can either ignore your judgment and simply not pay, or he can declare bankruptcy, leaving you holding a worthless piece of paper either way.
Fortunately, you can avoid that situation for a relatively minimal cost by purchasing uninsured motorist coverage, which will pay your damages if you are involved in an accident where the at-fault driver has no insurance. In that instance, your uninsured motorist coverage will pay for your property damage, medical costs, and other damages as if you had collected your damages from the at-fault driver. Underinsured motorist coverage does the same thing when the at-fault driver has insurance but has policy limits insufficient to cover your damages. Uninsured motorist coverage also covers your damages in hit-and-run accidents. You can structure such policies to cover property damage, medical costs, and other damages, or some combination of those, or set limits.
All of these factors will affect the cost of the policy, much like having a higher deductible will reduce your premium. As it is, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage usually costs only about $100 per year. Weighed against the cost of being hit and severely injured by an uninsured driver, having this type of coverage is well worth the expense for most drivers.
If You Are Hurt in an Accident with an Uninsured Driver, Contact a Miami Personal Injury Attorney Immediately
If you have been involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, you should talk to a Miami personal injury attorney to explore your options for recovering damages. Better yet, consult with a Miami area personal injury attorney before an accident to see what level of insurance coverage is best for you. Contact Flagler Personal Injury Group at (305) 424-8445 or through our online contact form. Flagler Personal Injury Group serves the greater Miami area.
We handle a variety of cases, so call us now if you have any questions.
View more contact information here: Miami Car Accident Lawyer.